Entertainment

25 Books Like Twilight to Sink Your Teeth Into

The Twilight Saga is undeniably one of the most popular Young Adult (YA) series of all time. The story of Edward Cullen and Bella Swan is cemented in pop culture with teens and teens-at-heart enthralled by their romance. Top off their fated love story with fantasy and hot vampires, and you get one of the best YA books to ever hit shelves. And if you’re still hung up on Twilight fever, here are our picks of the best books like Twilight you should read next.

1. Crave by Tracy Wolff

Image from Amazon.

Crave by Tracy Wolff follows the story of Grace, whose life gets turned upside down after the death of her parents in a car accident. She has no choice but to move to Alaska from California and attend a boarding school run by her uncle. There she meets Jaxon Vega, a mysterious and brooding young man with deadly secrets. Things take a turn for the worst when she finds out that supernatural creatures roam the halls of the academy. As the lone mortal, Grace finds herself in the middle of the several warring factions of shapeshifters, witches, and vampires.

At first glance, Crave certainly exudes Twilight vibes. Thanks to the similar concept of the book cover, plenty of people are asking: is Crave like Twilight? Both books fall under the YA vampire fiction genre with certainly lots of thrills, adventure, and romance.

 

Grab a copy of Crave by Tracy Wolff on Amazon.

2. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Image from Amazon.

Similar to Crave, Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy also takes place in a remote boarding school for the elite supernatural. Think Gossip Girl, but with vampires and half-vampires. Vampires in this world each have their own half-vampire guardians, called Dhampirs. The story centers on a Dhampir named Rose as she undergoes training to protect Lissa Dragomir, her best friend who also happens to be the last princess of the Dragomir line.

We see plenty of action sequences as we follow Rose’s heavy training in order to safeguard the lineage of the royal family. We also follow a forbidden romance bloom between Rose and her combat instructor, Dimitri. Overall, Vampire Academy is one of the engrossing books to read if you like Twilight but want more political intrigue, prep school gossip, and supernatural horror.

There’s no denying the success of Mead’s Vampire Academy series, which is especially evident with its legion of dedicated fans. Its popularity even spawned the Vampire Academy movie in 2014.

 

Grab a copy of Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead on Amazon. 

3. The Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith

Image from Amazon.

Chances are, you’re already familiar with The Vampire Diaries TV series. But did you know that this hit CW show is actually based on a book series of the same name? Similar to the TV series, the book centers on Elena Gilbert, a young high school girl from the mysterious town of Mystic Falls. The Vampire Diaries book series is also one of the vampire books like Twilight that features a love triangle. Elena suddenly finds herself torn between two vampire brothers who couldn’t be more different. She first meets Stefan, the mysterious yet selfless and compassionate student at her school, who she can’t get off her mind. That is until she meets Damon, the edgy bad boy who also captures her attention. We follow her story and struggles to choose between the two brothers.

 

Grab a copy of The Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith on Amazon. 

4. Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Image from Amazon.

If you’re looking for books like Twilight without vampires, you should pick up a copy of Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick. It offers readers a Twilight-esque story but with angels. This book starts off with Nora Grey, a regular high-school student who is often home alone since her mother travels a lot for work after her dad passed away. Since her father’s passing, Nora starts feeling that she is being watched, but she chalks it up to her late father’s presence as her guardian angel. Nora soon meets Patch Cipriano, the mysterious new student in her school who mostly keeps to himself. After meeting Patch, a strange turn of events happens in Nora’s life as she finds herself being saved from near-death experiences by Patch himself. Soon enough, Nora finds herself in the middle of an ancient war between the immortal and fallen angels.

 

Grab a copy of Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick on Amazon. 

5. Fallen by Lauren Kate

Image from Amazon.

Similar to Hush, Hush, Lauren Kate’s Fallen is a seemingly Twilight-esque story featuring angels. The story centers around a love triangle that will have readers get torn choosing between two gorgeous men fighting for the affection of the main character. It’s definitely one of the books like Twilight for tweens thanks to its depiction of angst-filled teenage tropes and star-crossed lovers.

The first installment in Kate’s YA fantasy books starts with Daniel Grigori, a fallen angel cursed to fall in love with Lucinda “Luce ” Prince, every seventeen years for eternity. However, this is something Luce herself doesn’t know. Despite their fated love, both are also destined to hurt one another. To make things even more complicated, Cameron “Cam” Briel, another fallen angel and brother of Daniel, also appears to take an interest in Luce.

Similar to the Twilight saga, Fallen also got the big-screen treatment in 2016. However, the film adaptation did not mirror the critical success of the Twilight movies. Nevertheless, if you’re looking for the best movies on Netflix to watch that offer the same vibes as Twilight, definitely check out the Fallen movie.

 

Grab a copy of Fallen by Lauren Kateon Amazon. 

6. Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

Image from Amazon.

 

The Beautiful Creatures book follows the story of a 16-year-old Ethan Wate who lives in a small Southern town called Gatlin. We start off the story with Ethan having recurring dreams about this girl whose face is always covered. One day, a new girl at school captures Ethan’s attention because despite never seeing a face, he is certain that Lena Duchannes is the girl from his dreams. Intrigued by her, Ethan tries to befriend Lena, but she keeps her distance as she tries to protect a secret — one that determines her destiny. The first in a four-part book series, Beautiful Creatures, is a story of two teens who battle against witches and curses, to be together.

If you’re tired of the usual vampires and werewolves plot, but still want a story full of mystery, suspense, and romance, you should certainly pick up a copy of this novel. It is also one of the few YA fantasy books that tell the story from the male protagonist’s perspective.

 

Grab a copy of Beautiful Creaturesby Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl on Amazon.

 

7. The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner by Stephenie Meyer

Image from Amazon.

What better book is like Twilight than the official spin-off? The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner is a novella that tells the story of one of the minor characters we first met in Eclipse — Bree Tanner. As one of the newly turned vampires, Bree has a lot to learn about how to be a vampire. We follow her as she comes to terms with her new and, unfortunately, short second life. And just like other Stephenie Meyer books, we also get a romance between the main protagonist and a vampire.

However, for those who have read Eclipse, we all know that the romance between Bree and the fellow young vampire named Diego is doomed. Meyer makes up for this, though, by offering more vampire trivia, world-building, and an outsider’s perspective of Edward and Bella. Furthermore, the novella also gives us more in-depth glances at the events that happen concurrently in Eclipse. 

 

Grab a copy of The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner by Stephenie Meyer on Amazon. 

8. Certain Dark Things by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

Image from Amazon.

Certain Dark Things is a neo-noir fantasy-horror story that focuses on Domingo, a street kid and garbage collector living in Mexico City. In this world, vampires are free to roam the streets and Mexico City is the last city that is free of them. Domingo simply wants to make a living, but he soon meets Atl, a vampire on the run. Shortly after meeting, both of them are on the run. But it’s not just from other vampires that are after Atl. They also navigate the streets hiding from police and gangs that want to keep blood drinkers out of Mexico City.

This novel offers a richly imagined world with diverse and nuanced characters. Certain Dark Things is without a doubt one of the best YA books for readers who want a refreshing take on vampire lore. It’s one of the vampire books like Twilight that tackles themes of revenge and death laid out in fast-paced, gruesome action scenes. 

 

Grab a copy of Certain Dark Things by Silvia Moreno-Garcia on Amazon. 

9. The Gilda Stories by Jewelle L. Gómez

Image from Amazon.

For those searching for LGBT YA books with fantasy elements, you should definitely pick up a copy of The Gilda Stories by Jewelle L. Gómez. Set in Louisiana during the 1850s, we begin the story with Gilda, a young black girl who recently escapes slavery and starts working in a brothel. While working there, she meets two vampire women who, with Gilda’s consent, turns her into a vampire as well. Over the course of two hundred years, we follow Gilda’s longing for love and a place to call home.

The Gilda Stories tells the story of being black and queer in America at a time where being either could cost you your life. It showcases the importance of family and how family members are not just constrained by shared blood.

 

Grab a copy of The Gilda Storiesby Jewelle L. Gómezon Amazon. 

10. The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh

Image from Amazon.

Renée Ahdieh’s The Beautiful has a wonderful balance of mystery and romance. It tells the story of seventeen-year-old Celine as she settles in her new life in New Orleans in the 1870s. After being forced to flee from Paris because of a dark deed she committed, she quickly finds herself enraptured with the beauty and magic of the city. After catching the eye of Sébastien Saint Germain, she finds herself embroiled in the city’s underworld and with the threat of a serial killer on the loose.

This novel is certainly one of the books to read if you like Twilight but with a murder-mystery twist. Asides from the blood and gore elements of it, readers should be warned that it depicts scenes of attempted rape and sexual assault. As such, it may not be the easiest read for most. However, its gorgeously rich world-building continues to draw readers in.

 

Grab a copy of The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh on Amazon. 

11. Salem’s Lot by Stephen King

Image from Amazon.

Stephen King’s Salem’s Lot is certainly not a YA book. However, it’s undeniably one of the most critically acclaimed vampire novels out there. Similar to other Stephen King books, Salem’s Lot takes place in a small town riddled with secrets that are hidden in plain sight. The story begins with writer Ben Mears as he returns to his hometown looking to uncover some of these secrets, beginning with an old mansion that’s shrouded with mystery. Along the way, we met other Salem’s Lot characters living in the small town that, for better or for worse, accompany Ben on his mission.

Known for his spellbinding pieces of horror literature, King’s Salem’s Lot can certainly chill down one’s spine. A Salems Lot movie adaptation is set for release in 2022, making it the perfect time for you to read the chilling stories about vampires in a small town. Alternatively, you can check out other Stephen King movies that you can watch until then.

 

Grab a copy of Salem’s Lot by Stephen King on Amazon. 

12. Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

Image from Amazon.

Do you want to read books like Twilight but werewolves take center stage? If that’s the case, check out Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater. It begins with Grace, who, for years, has watched the wolves in the forest behind her house. She’s especially drawn to a particular wolf with yellow eyes. That summer she meets Sam, a boy with familiar yellow eyes.

Shiver is one of the YA fantasy romance books that recreates the strong, cosmic connection between Edward and Bella with its own two main characters. It offers a story full of love, devotion, and sacrifice.

 

Grab a copy of Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater on Amazon. 

13. Evernight by Claudia Gray

Image from Amazon.

Bianca is the new girl at Evernight Academy. She quickly starts to feel the isolation of being the new student and soon enough is dubbed as the outcast. However, meeting the charming yet antagonistic Lucas changes the way she perceives her new life. Completely enamored by him, she is willing to risk everything to be with him. The two face obstacles to be together, obstacles that mirror the dynamic between Edward and Bella. Claudia Gray’s Evernight takes readers on a journey through the gothic world of the paranormal, riddled with love and fantasy.

 

Grab a copy of Evernight by Claudia Gray on Amazon. 

14. Marked by P.C. Cast

Image from Amazon.

The first book in the 12-book House of Night series centers on Zoey, who is sent to the House of Night to become a vampire. That is if her body survives the Change. Not all Marked ones make it through the Change and Zoey must fight in order to survive. Unfortunately for this sixteen-year-old, cruel forces are at work trying to prevent her from embracing her destiny.

Marked, along with the other installments in this saga, is one of the books like Twilight but better in terms of the vampire lore. P.C. Cast offers more world and lore building than we see in Stephenie Meyer’s books. It’s certainly one of the top teen vampire fiction novels.

 

Grab a copy of Marked by P.C. Cast on Amazon. 

15. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness 

Image from Amazon.

The novels in the All Souls trilogy are books like Twilight for adults. The first installment, A Discovery of Witches, introduces us to Diana Bishop, a distinguished history scholar and professor at Yale University. Diana is a witch but for years rejected the magic in her blood after the death of her parents when she was a child. After accidentally finding a coveted manuscript, she must learn to embrace a part of herself she long sought to keep out. And in true fantasy romance fashion, she engages a forbidden romance with Matthew Clairmont, a vampire. The A Discovery of Witches book is full of fantasy, mystery, and romance, with a mixture of history that makes it so much better. The success of the book series even spawned a television adaptation in 2018.

 

Grab a copy of A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness on Amazon. 

16. Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

Image from Amazon.

Chances are, you’ve probably streamed the hit show True Blood on HBO Max, or at the very least, heard of it. Similar to The Vampire Diaries, this fantasy horror drama show is based on a series of books like Twilight for adults. The first book in the 13-part-series, titled Dead Until Dark, is set in a world wherein vampires have “come out of the coffin” and are living among humans. This is thanks to the invention of synthetic blood that allows them to survive without the need to feed off humans.

The story centers on Sookie Stackhouse, a cocktail waitress from a small Louisiana town. Sookie has the power of telepathy, which gives her the ability to hear and see human thoughts. She encounters Bill, a handsome vampire whom she cannot read his mind, and she falls for him fast. Sounds familiar? Similar to the Twilight saga, we also see other supernatural creatures besides vampires. Werewolves, fae, and witches also take part in the series. However, the book is still very much intended for a more mature audience with its abundance of sexual themes. As such, it’s definitely not one of the books like Twilight for tweens.

 

Grab a copy of Dead Until Darkby Charlaine Harris on Amazon. 

17. Dark Lover by J.R. Ward

Image from Amazon.

Another one of the vampire books like Twilight that adults can enjoy is The Black Dagger Brotherhood series by J.R. Ward. The first book in the series titled Dark Lover, tells the story of the last purebred vampire in the world. On his mission to avenge the death of his parents in the hands of vampire slayers, he suddenly finds himself involved with Beth, who is half-vampire and half-human.

A quest for survival by a group of vampires bound by blood accompanies the whirlwind paranormal romance of the two main protagonists. The strong familial bond between the characters mirrors that of the Cullen family. As such, if you’re looking for a series to read that highlights the bond of chosen family with plenty of steamy sexy times between the two main characters, Dark Lover should be right up your alley. Moreover, it also offers plenty of vampire lore and world-building.

 

Grab a copy of Dark Lover by J.R. Ward on Amazon. 

18. Hearts at Stake by Alyxandra Harvey

Image from Amazon.

Hearts at Stake follows the story of Solange Drake, a mortal girl who is born to a family of vampires. And despite being human, she’s a strong female character that bites back. On her sixteenth birthday, she will undergo the transition from human to immortal, that is if she survives it. The quick-witted and sassy Solange also finds herself caught in the middle of a war between two vampire dynasties. Despite being born into one of the most powerful vampire clans, Solange wonders if it will be enough to keep her safe. To make things more complicated, she also finds herself falling for a vampire hunter her family captures.

This suspenseful fantasy novel provides a fresh spin on the typical YA vampire genre. With new takes on vampire lore and a forbidden romance, Alyxandra Harvey’s Hearts at Stake is certainly one book to pick up if you enjoy the Twilight saga.

 

Grab a copy of Hearts at Stake by Alyxandra Harvey on Amazon. 

19. The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

Image from Amazon.

The Immortal Rules is set in a post-apocalyptic dystopia where vampires reign supreme. In a world where vampires treat humans like cattle for blood, Allison is one of the humans who isn’t enslaved by vampire masters. This also means that she has to find other means to survive.

Ever since she could remember, Allison has hated vampires. But after getting attacked one night, she lies on the brink of death, until a vampire offers her a choice — death or immortality. After turning into what she has hated the most, Allison must come to terms with her new immortal life.

 

Grab a copy of The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa on Amazon. 

20. Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz

Image from Amazon.

When the Mayflower arrived in North America in the 1600s, it carried not only the men and women who would shape the New World. In this retelling of historical events, vampires were among the Pilgrims. The vampires quickly assimilated into society and rose to prominence.

For centuries, these vampires gained power, wealth, and influence; all the while keeping their immortality a secret. That is until, in modern-day New York, one member of the Blue Bloods ends up dead. In the middle of the rising threat against this elite community is Schuyler Van Alen, a seemingly normal girl who wakes one day with blue veins in her arms.

 

Grab a copy of Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz on Amazon. 

21. Evermore by Alyson Noël

Image from Amazon.

Evermore is one of the YA fantasy romance books you should read if you want a story that mirrors the beginning of Edward and Bella’s relationship. Ever Bloom is the lone survivor of a car crash that killed the rest of her family. But her life wasn’t the only thing she got out of it. Since the fatal accident, Ever possesses the ability to see people’s auras if she’s close enough. By touching people, she can hear their thoughts, but this ability proves to be more of a burden than a gift. She ostracizes herself from people at her new school in order to suppress her abilities.

Ever meets the first person who can silence her mind, Damen Auguste. Damen is arrogant and cold towards Ever, but she finds herself drawn to him. Since he is the only person who can give her the peace she so desperately craves, she soon finds herself falling for him.

 

Grab a copy of Evermore by Alyson Noëlon Amazon. 

22. Touch the Dark by Karen Chance

Image from Amazon.

In this non-stop action and paranormal novel, Karen Chance tells the story of Cassandra Palmer.As a clairvoyant, Cassandra can talk to the dead and see the future. These talents of hers attract the dead and undead. While the ghosts are fairly harmless, it’s when the undead show up that things start to get messy. After being on the run from a powerful vampire mafia, she turns to the vampire Senate for help. The undead senators are willing to help Cassandra, but for a cost.

While the Twilight books focused primarily on vampires and wolves, Touch the Dark has a bit of everything. Chance dabbled in supernatural creatures and elements such as ghosts, vampires, shape-shifters, fae, psychics, and even dragons! There’s even a touch of time travel thrown into the plot.

 

Grab a copy ofTouch the Darkby Karen Chance on Amazon. 

23. Angels’ Blood by Nalini Singh 

Image from Amazon.

There’s no denying the popularity of Nalini Singh books. This is especially with her Guild Hunter series that has 14 main installments plus several spin-offs and novellas. The first book in this urban fantasy book series, titled Angel’s Blood, follows the story of Elena Deveraux, a vampire hunter. Tasked to go after an Archangel named Raphael, she quickly finds herself falling for the wayward angel. In a world wherein angels rule over humans and vampires, can these two star-crossed lovers find their happy endings? If Twilight centers on vampires vs werewolves, Angel’s Blood tells the battle between vampires and angels. And how angelhood also comes with a dark and sinister side.

 

Grab a copy of Angels’ Blood by Nalini Singh on Amazon. 

24. Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice

Image from Amazon.

Long before Stephenie Meyer’s books took to the shelves and captivated a legion of fangirls, Anne Rice revolutionized the vampire genre with her debut novel. Considered as one of the best gothic horror novels to feature vampires, Interview with the Vampire focuses on Louis, a two-hundred-year-old vampire. He shares the story of his life before and after the transformation into a vampire with a reporter.

The reason why Rice’s 1976 novel fundamentally shaped the vampire genre is because of her portrayals of the undead. Unlike the other stories that cast these supernatural creatures as ruthless monsters, we see them in a sympathetic and humane light. On account of this, we think it’s safe to say that Interview with the Vampire paved the way in reframing mainstream media’s perception of the undead.

 

Grab a copy of Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice on Amazon. 

25. Dracula by Bram Stoker

Image from Amazon.

Speaking of classic vampire gothic novels, where would we be now without the most famous vampire out there — Count Dracula. Bram Stoker’s 1897 novel helped shape the concept of the modern vampire we have now. Common traits that we see most vampires have, such as no reflection in mirrors, enormous strength, and heightened senses, all come from Stoker. And while Stoker’s Dracula was hypersensitive to light, his skin didn’t sparkle, unlike the vampires we see in books by Stephenie Meyer.

Dracula features several characters with no true, real protagonists. The story is told through journal entries, letters, and telegrams written by characters detailing their encounters with Count Dracula. You’ve probably already watched a number of adaptations of Stoker’s Dracula, but the original novel truly is a timeless piece that everyone should read. 

 

Grab a copy of Dracula by Bram Stoker on Amazon. 

BONUS: Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James

Image from Amazon.

For readers searching for books like Twilight without vampires or any other supernatural creatures, Fifty Shades of Grey is certainly a book to consider. And while it lacks paranormal and fantasy elements, this book does offer intense, passion-filled scenes between literature student Anastasia Steel and affluent and enigmatic Christian Grey. As many fans of both series know, E.L. James started writing Fifty Shades of Grey as a spin-off fanfiction of the Twilight books. James took inspiration from Meyer’s works and added an R-rated twist with plenty of kinky BDSM ideas. As an erotic drama romance, instead of a  YA fantasy series, this book highlights the frightening reality of human relationships and the complexities that come with them.

Similar to Twilight, the success of the book trilogy of Fifty Shades spawned a film franchise, starting with the Fifty Shades of Grey movie in 2015.

 

Grab a copy of Fifty Shades of Greyby E.L. James on Amazon. 

Sink Your Teeth Into These Books Like Twilight 

Stories of blood sucking monsters have been around for centuries. Over time, we’ve seen the depiction of them from cold, isolated killers from the gallows of Transylvania develop into sexy, brooding eternal beings looking for love. Instead of villains that horrify readers, we see Stephenie Meyer books portray them as misunderstood creatures longing for a human bond. Meyer even makes turning someone into a vampire the pinnacle of romance. Thus, ensuring that you will be with your true love for all eternity.

And while the hype over the saga may have subsided over the years, there’s no denying that stories similar to Twilight still live on. We still have a plethora of YA books that feature vampires with tragic stories yet bright features. From vampire books like Twilight to novels that replace vampires with other supernatural creatures, these novels will satisfy your itch for a dark, forbidden romance set in an urban fantasy world.